February 2016 Issue

Branching Out

TUFC names 2016 board members

TSU professor De’Etra Young is president of the 2016 TUFC board of directors. UT professor Sharon Jean-Philippe is secretary, and landscaper Patrick Haller is treasurer.

Board members are Chris Armour, Amy Dismukes, Marti Foster, past president Scott Johnson, Josiah Lockard, Vicki Turner, Lydia Wiggins, Scott Woods, and Mason T. Young. David Cook, Karen Davenport, Samuel Peyton, and Bruce Webster serve one-year appointments.

Center of Excellence has busy season

More than 6,650 individuals participated in tree-related events or classes at TUFC’s Center of Excellence, Memphis Botanic Garden, from July through December.

The center offered educational programming, arboretum assistance, family programming, and urban forestry support as well as enhancing MBG’s collections by planting five trees and shrubs a week.

Actitivies included Trees and Forests Day, five-week urban forestry classes, a tree walk, talks on conifers, rainforests, and classes on Trees of Tennessee and Tremendous Trees.

MBC worked with Middleton Arboretum, Cordova Library, Drummonds Park, and LaGrange Cemetery on identification, naming, and signage.

The center also hosted the 2016 TUFC urban forestry conference. MORE

Apply for Tree Campus USA grant

The Arbor Day Foundation is offering mini-grants to support Arbor Day celebrations this spring.

Recognized Tree Campuses, current Alliance for Community Trees member organizations, or campuses planning to qualify are eligible for $1,000 awards to hold a joint celebration.

The celebration event must be centered around tree planting, care, education, or other urban forestry activities.

National Arbor Day is April 29. APPLY

Shop at Amazon with Smile, help TUFC


AmazonSmile offers a simple and automatic way for you to support TUFC every time you shop, at no cost to you.

When you shop at smile.amazon.com, you’ll find the exact same low prices, vast selection, and convenience, and Amazon will donate a portion of the purchase price to TUFC. Shop

‘Trees of Tennessee’ features landmark, notable trees

  • Hardcover coffee table book with 128 full-color pages
  • More than 150 images including 68 notable, champion, landmark, historic, and heritage trees


including tax

Book Cover

West chapter meets February 18

The West Tennessee TUFC chapter meets February 18 at 1 p.m. at Memphis Botanic Garden.

West chapter names new officers

Joellen Dimond was elected president and Scot Abel vice president of the West Tennessee Chapter of TUFC. Wesley Hopper is treasurer and Jim Dennis secretary. Also serving on the board are Richard Beckwith, past president Eric Bridges, and Jan Castillo.

West sets tree ID workshop February 18

Members can brush up on their winter tree identification skills February 18 at Memphis Botanic Garden. The three-hour workshop, which includes class and field study, begins at 9 a.m. Cost is $5. Call 901-636-4128 for more information.

TennGreen hosts scenic byways presentation

Sherry Beard and Richard Quin showcase Tennessee’s network of byways, Mockingbird routes, and Discover Tennessee trails at 4 p.m. February 26 at 117 30th Avenue South in Nashville.

Webinar series discusses best practices for tree boards

Three webinars promise to help you take your community forestry board to the next level.

February 23: Community Tree Planting Programs features a creative approach to partnerships, funding strategies, and volunteer recruitment.

March 22: The Role of Advocacy in Community Forestry discusses what advocacy is, what role a tree board plays in the process, and some key strategies you can use to bring urban forestry and your program to the forefront.

April 19: Management Plans: Know What You Need showcases different approaches to urban forestry plans and their components.

The webinars begin at 11 a.m. EST.

Those attending two or more webinars receive a Tree Board Resource Guide CD. REGISTER

Emerald ash borer update

• Counties added to quarantine in 2015: Bledsoe, Cumberland, Franklin, Marshall, Rutherford, Trousdale, Williamson, and Wilson.


Promoting healthy and sustainable urban and community forests
in Tennessee


New, renewing TUFC members


  • AJ's Tree Service
  • Arbor Care of East Tennessee
  • Davy Expert Tree
  • Ellis Tree Care
  • Follis Tree Preservation
  • Fulgham's
  • Haller's Landscape & Lawncare
  • Rock Bridge Trees
  • Ragan-Smith Associates
  • The Ornamentor
  • Timberline Tree and Lawn Care
  • Village Trees
  • Wilder Motor & Equipment


  • City of Bartlett
  • City of Cleveland
  • City of Crossville
  • City of Harrogate
  • City of Kingsport
  • City of Memphis
  • City of Tullahoma
  • Cleveland State Community College
  • Town of Collierville


  • Shelby Farms Park Conservancy


  • Joanna Abel
  • Scot Abel
  • Jill Alliman
  • Douglas Baker
  • Richard Beckwith
  • Nan Beesley
  • Benjamin Bevins
  • Emily Bishop
  • Margaret Blackmon
  • Cranmer Boyce
  • Barry Bradford
  • Marie Branch
  • Thomas Brashear
  • Nick Bridgeman
  • Eric Bridges
  • Paul Buchignani
  • Jan Castillo
  • Mike Cleere
  • Christine Conley
  • David Cook
  • Linda Davis
  • James Dennis
  • David Dickason
  • Joellen Dimond
  • Amy Dismukes
  • Deborah Foehring
  • Marti Foster
  • Bruce Franklin
  • Jim Gafford
  • Thomas Garner
  • Jeff Golladay
  • Clay Gravatt
  • Ryan Hall
  • Kim Halyak
  • Skip Heibert
  • Cody Herron
  • Charles Holloway
  • Wes Hopper
  • Linda Howe
  • Sharon Jean-Phillippe
  • Jere Jeter
  • Michael Jurgens
  • Robert Jurgens
  • Karla Kean
  • Jo Kee
  • Kevin Key
  • Rob Kraker
  • Kasey Krouse
  • Ciaran Lawlor
  • Josiah Lockard
  • Noah Long
  • Dottie Mann
  • Madison May
  • Ted McLaughlin
  • E. Bryan Miller
  • Flo Moore
  • John Morrison
  • Diann Nance
  • Christopher O'Bryan
  • Bernadette O'Donnell
  • Janice Oliver
  • Sandy Oxford
  • Chris Packer
  • Mike Parsons
  • Paula Pederson
  • Carmen Pendergrass
  • Sean Pflaumer
  • Shawn Posey
  • Eartha Reaves
  • Carl Robertson
  • Beth Rowlett
  • Brian Rucker
  • Michael Schiebout
  • Mary Lynn Seale
  • Judi Shellabarger
  • Connie Shepherd
  • Mary Beth Sheppard
  • Tom Simpson
  • Larry Smith
  • Jennifer Smith
  • Kevin Smith
  • Steve Springer
  • Judy Stephenson
  • Kathrine Stevenson
  • Kevin Stewart
  • Vador Vance
  • Jim Volgas
  • Julie Volgas
  • Carol Walenga
  • Jonathon Walker
  • Dave Walters
  • Bruce Webster
  • Linnea West
  • Eldra White
  • James Wick
  • Lydia Wiggins
  • Elizabeth Williams
  • Phillip Willis
  • Mike Witt
  • De'Etra Young
  • Guy Zimmerman


  • Mary Brand
  • Campbell Casseb
  • Jonathan Clouse
  • Daysha Henderson
  • Samuel Peyton
  • Andrew Schneider
  • Mason Young

Subscribe To Our Mailing List

facebook -->