TUFC History

History of Tennessee Urban Forestry Council

The first urban forestry council in Tennessee met on February 14, 1991, at 10 a.m. at the main conference room of the Department of Conservation, 701 Broadway, Nashville, Tennessee. The urban forestry section of the Tennessee Division of Forestry organized the meeting.

Individuals present to form this council were Alice Ann Barge, Marilyn Brown, Janet Bunch, Steve Clark, Josh Collins, Jim Cortese, Debra Dedrick, Kim Hawkins, Gene Hyde, Jim Johnson, Wilma Keeney, Martine Madlinger, Rick Minton, Tom Simpson, Dr. George Weaver and Guy Zimmerman. Others present included Ed Macie of the US Forest Service, Roy Ashley, Hart Applegate, Wayne Clatterbuck, Marsha Thibault and Bruce Webster of the Tennessee Division of Forestry and Sharon Fitzgerald from the Tennessee Municipal League.

Founding Committee

  • Guy Zimmerman (Vice-Chairman), area forester, Cookeville
  • Marilyn Brown, director, Memphis Beautiful Committee
  • Janet Bunch, horticulturist, City of Knoxville
  • Josh Collins, Recreation and Parks Dept., Oak Ridge
  • Kim Hawkins, landscape architect, Nashville
  • Jim Johnson, extension agent, Nashville
  • Ricky Minton, nurseryman, McMinnville

Read about the First Minutes.